Choosing The Right Browser For Your Computer

Photo taken from http://www.ktclear.in

If I make a survey about which browser you think is the best, for sure most people will say Google Chrome. There is no doubt about Google Chrome’s performance. I myself say it’s one of or if not the fastest web browser there is. But of course, even Google Chrome has its flaws. Based on my experience, Chrome eats up a lot of RAM. I’m not a techy person or an IT, but if you check your task manager, you’ll get what I’m talking about. I own a netbook; Windows 7 Starter, 32-bit with a 2GB RAM and has no video card. It’s not the best laptop, so the best web browser is not fit for my netbook. I did some research about lightweight web browsers. I found a lot, but also found out that more of them are out-dated and it doesn’t support most websites. I found 6 web browsers that you might want to consider using or stop using.

Before I start with the list, let me explain to you guys what I did.

  • In every browser, I opened 6 tabs.
  • Each tab opens the most commonly websites people are most likely to open (Facebook, Twitter, Youtube, WordPress, Getglue, 8tracks)
  • For web browsers that include extensions, I downloaded the extensions that are most likely to be used. (Adblock, IDM Integration, Disconnect, Youtube Options)
  • I didn’t include the CPU usage and Memory usage percentage because, while I was doing this, I was running different programs that may contribute to the memory usage. I didn’t want to mislead you guys.

1. Google Chrome

Chrome will never be out of the “which-browser-to-use” list. Like I said, most people consider this as their best.

Chrome

Chrome_Process

Extensions used:

  • Disconnect
  • Adblock Plus
  • IDM Integration
  • YouTube Options

Total of 15 processes
Memory (Private Working Set) totals 796, 668K

Advantages of using Google Chrome is that it syncs to almost everything (Google Docs, Youtube, Google +, etc.) When I used Opera, I always get a warning whenever I’m using Google Docs . It keeps telling me that Opera does not support Google Docs but it still worked fine for me. My problem with Chrome is that when there are multiple tabs open, tendency is that my laptop lags or goes mega slow. So if you’re a person with a really good laptop and is a person who replies on Google accounts, Google Chrome is best for you.

2. Mozilla Firefox

Mozilla Firefox is Google Chrome’s greatest rival. Mostly because they have almost the same features.

Firefox

Firefox_Process

Extensions used:

  • Adblock plus
  • Youtube center
  • Avast online security
  • IDM Integration

Total of 2 processes
Memory (Private Working Set) totals 415, 328K

My problem with Mozilla is that it has a really slow start-up time, and sometimes it doesn’t load images especially on Twitter. Back then, Mozilla had the same problem with Google Chrome. It also ate a lot of RAM. But good thing they fixed it, but the performance level was still the same. I hope they do something about this. I would recommend Mozilla Firefox for those who really want to save RAM usage.

3. Opera

Opera

Opera_ProcessExtensions used:

  • Adblock
  • Disconnect
  • Youtube Center
  • IDM intergration

Total of 14 processes
Memory (Private Working Set) totals 426,232K

Opera, to be honest, is my personal favorite. It’s not as RAM consuming as Google Chrome, but the performance (in my opinion) is better than Mozilla Firefox. My only problem with Opera is that the latest version does not have a Bookmark feature, but it does have Speed Dial. I hope Opera brings back their Bookmark feature because that’s one of the most important things in a web browser. So if you’re looking for good performance, and still saves RAM usage, Opera will work fine for you.

4. Maxthon Cloud Browser

This is a new comer in the web browser competition. It is very lightweight but may be a bit buggy (since it is still somehow new). You can sync your browsing history, bookmarks, passwords, etc. from your PC t your smart phone/tablet device through it’s cloud engine.

Maxthon

Maxthon_Process

Other Features:
– chrome based
– syncs your settings to your account
– built-in notepad (Skynote)
– split screen
– built in Ad-Hunter
– built-in print screen button
– built-in resource sniffer (downloads video files, audio, images, CSS, etc.)
– IDM integrated
– sidebar can be hidden

Extensions Used:
– NoAds
– Youtube Center

Total of 5 processes
Memory (Private Working Set) totals 378,232 K

The problem with Maxthon is once a problem is encountered, there are only few sources to look at for solutions, since not a lot of people use this browser.

5. Comodo Dragon

Another Chromium based web browser that focuses on improving web browsing privacy.

Comodo Comodo_Process

Extensions Used:
– Adblock plus
– Youtube options
– provdog

Other Feature/s:
– built-in web inspector and PrivDog (it protects your privacy). This is something similar to Disconnect.

Total of 13 processes
Memory (Private Working Set) totals 386, 784 K

6. Torch

A web browser with a combination of media downloading and sharing.’

Torch Torch_Process

Extensions used:
– Disconnect
– Adblock plus
– IDM integration

Other Features:
– mixture of opera and chrome
– fast performance even with 6 tabs
– does not allow “Youtube Options” (extension)

Total of 19 processes
Memory (Private Working Set) totals 573,294 K

———-

For me, Opera is the winner. I’ve been using Opera for my netbook for more than a year now, and it’s been great. Chrome used to be my main browser, but whenever I have a lot of tabs, my netbook starts to lag. That never happened when I started using Opera. Firefox was okay, but it was too slow for me.

What about you guys? Which browser is the best for you?

One thought on “Choosing The Right Browser For Your Computer

Leave a Reply

