Starvation Diet Never Works…For Me At Least

Well, it’s been a long time since I last wrote an entry and I realized that my blog’s starting to die because of that. I thought it’s just about time that I write again. Thing is, I had no idea what to write about. Anybeans, I thought of writing about my “diet” or let’s say, my way of “living healthy”.

In my opinion, the whole crash or starvation diet thing is not—and is never—a good thing.

Back in high school, I used to be a chubby little girl. Reason for this was because I would eat a loaf of bread in one sitting while watching my favorite cartoons late at night. I’d also drink a lot of coffee (reason why I stay up late to watch TV). I’d eat a bowl of rice for dinner. See where I’m getting at? Back in high school, I was not really mindful of what I am eating. I weighted around 110 pounds (mind you that my height is just 4’9, so my BMI was close to being overweight).

In college, I decided to join the cheerleading team. I didn’t know it was going to require a lot of weight losing. My coach wanted me to become a flyer (the ones they throw and lift), but because of my weight, he just made me a dancer. I was required to lose 20 pounds before the competition. Meaning, from 110 lbs, I have to be 90 lbs. Of course I lost weight, but that’s because my coach asks me to pay 100 pesos every week I gain or not lose weight. So yeah, I’m not gonna pay him shit just because of my weight, so might as well just do lose.

I tried all kinds of diets just for that. And most of them involved starving myself. NOW, I’m here to tell you guys why what I did was a bad idea—a REALLY bad idea.

My diet plan before was so messed up. There was a time when all I had to eat were cereals only, and I only get to eat 1 cup of it. I also tried just eating cereal drinks. I also did a “no rice” diet. While doing these, I had to train for 5 hours straight. So see? I ate so little, but with my activities, my body needed more. Which of course, I ignored.

I did lose weight, I’m not gonna lie. But I didn’t expect for side effects.

Just 4 months ago, I found out that I’m anemic and possible ulcer. Because of this, my doctor forebode me to cheer for a while until my condition gets better. According to my doctor, the reason why I’m anemic is because I don’t eat too much red meat and I stay up too late. She also said that if I keep starving myself, I’ll certainly have ulcer.

My doctor also told me that there are so many alternatives to be fit and not starve yourself. She told me that I can still eat a lot and stay fit.

My doctor also said that being too thin is not always good. It may indicate that a person has heath problems.

After getting hospitalized for so many times this year, I decided to start living a healthy life.

Now, I eat whatever I want. But of course there is moderation in everything I eat. Like what most people say, “Having too much and too less is bad for you”. I also do a lot of working out right now—yoga (my  favorite), Pilates, cardio, and running. I’d normally workout for an hour or two. And nowadays, I feel great!

You see, you don’t have to starve yourself to be thin or fit. Starving yourself will only put your body into danger.

From being 90 lbs, my doctor asked me to gain a little because my body needs it. So now I weigh 95 lbs, which my doctor said is better for me.

Just eat whatever you want! As long as it doesn’t harm you. And always remember to monitor how much you eat because too much can be very bad for you. Stop starving yourself and start feeding yourself!

Keep loving your body. No one else will love and take care of it but you.

Leave a Reply

