10 Reasons Why Yoga Is Good For You

Yoga is known for its physical, mental, and spiritual practices which originated from India. Its goal is to attain inner peace, cleansing out of anything that stress the mind, body and soul.

I was a Yogi—a practitioner of Yoga—back when I was a kid. It was a part of my organizations in school for 4 years until the school had to take it down because the instructor had to leave the country. Anybeans, recently I’ve been doing Yoga again because my doctor recommended it for me because I’m anemic.

I’ve been practicing Yoga again for 2 weeks now, and I can really feel that it has changed me for the better. I feel like I’ve improved physically, mentally and spiritually. I’m here to share to you guys the reasons why Yoga is good for us, and what I’m going to share are all based on experience.

1. Breathing improves.
In my yoga class, we always start the session with breathing exercises. We are asked to inhale deeply and hold it for 5 seconds, and as we exhale, we exhale with out mouth. According to my instructor this is good for blood circulation. It also normalizes your breathing.
In yoga, as we breathe, we release all the tension and anything that stresses us out. As we breathe, we calm ourselves down.
This is helpful for people with asthma and heart problems.

2. Increases Hemoglobin
This is the sole reason why my doctor recommended this to me. Since I’m anemic, I’m in need of RBC (Red Blood Cells). Yoga increases hemoglobin count and RCB, which transports oxygen through the blood.

3. Improves lifestyle
Ever since I started practicing Yoga again, I noticed that my lifestyle had changed and improved. It became a habit to wake up early in the morning and practice Yoga before eating breakfast. I would always feel good in the morning because I’ve release all the tension and stress in my Yoga practice. My patience and understanding have improved. For a cranky person, I’ve been always in a good mood lately.

4. Improves flexibility
Yoga requires a lot of stretching. In advance levels, you will do a lot of heel stretches, splits and back-bends.

Hanumanasana (Monkey Pose)
Photo taken from http://www.answer-my-health-question.info

Eka Pada Rajakapotasana I (One-Legged King Pigeon Pose I)
Photo taken from http://www.womenshealthmag.com

Natarajasana (King Dancer Pose)
Photo taken from http://res.mindbodygreen.com

5. Improves strength
There are poses in Yoga which will need arm, leg and/or core strength. In Yoga, balance is important. You will need balance and strength in most Yoga poses. For example, the side plank; downward facing dog; the crow pose; etc. In my two weeks of doing Yoga, I learned how to do a crow pose 😀 It’s more of core strength rather than of arms.

My crow pose

My crow’s pose

6. Improves balance
Balance is an important element in the art of Yoga. In Yoga, balance does not only apply to one-leg poses and the like. Balance here also means that everything should be in proportion. The energy you bring out should be equally distributed. An example of this is the shoulder-stand. In a shoulder stand, almost all your parts of the body—arms, shoulders, hips, chin, legs, back—will have to function in order to be stable.

7. Improves concentration and memory
In doing Yoga poses, you need to only focus on what you’re doing. You need to set your mind into it. You cannot be distracted by the outside forces, or else you won’t be able to do what you’re doing perfectly. Also, in yoga, as you practice, always concentrate on your breathing. It should be calm and relaxing. Yoga also improves memory because you will have to remember the flows you been doing in order for your body to recognize it. Once your body recognizes the movement or the flow, you will realize that you are making improvements in doing the movement/pose/flow. Meditation and Savasana (Corps Pose) are one of my favorite flows in Yoga. It’s very relaxing and it allows you to clear your mind and focus only one thing, and that is your breathing.

8. Lengthens the spine
This is what my instructor always say. In some yoga poses, you will have to stretch your body, lengthening the spine. Examples are the child’s pose, half-way up, downward facing dog, etc. Lengthening the spine will improve your posture and regulates blood flow.

9. Improves metabolism
Originally, Yoga is more of a practice rather than a perfection or workout. Nowadays, people do Yoga as a way of working out. Yes, you do sweat in yoga. And when you sweat, you maximize your metabolism.

10. Normalizes weight
Because Yoga improves your metabolism, it will eventually normalize your weight. It will tone up your body. When you feel your weight improving, it will make you feel better about yourself, so it also increases your self-confidence.

In doing Yoga, you don’t have to enroll in a class or join a club like what I did. You can do it at home as well! There are websites that offer free online Yoga classes like YogaDownload.com and DoYouYoga.com. There are also a lot of Yoga videos on Youtube, just make sure that you don’t take the classes that are hard for you. Feel free to practice Yoga and also feel good 🙂

Namaste.

1http://www.anahatayoga.info/benefits_of_yoga.php

9 thoughts on “10 Reasons Why Yoga Is Good For You

  1. Pingback: The Advanced Class | My DDP Yoga Journey

    • That’s great! Practicing yoga daily is really good for the body. I normally start my day with a 20-minute yoga session, and if I have time, I also do another round of 20-minute yoga at night 🙂

      I hope you enjoy practicing yoga as I do!

  2. Pingback: The Beginning Of “Anybeans” | ThisIsRidiculousToThePowerOf10

  3. Pingback: Top 3 Favorite Yoga Pose | mygreenjuice

  4. Pingback: Triangle Twist |

Leave a Reply

